Luecke At This!!!

by

Today I was asked to convert a .jp2 (JPEG 2000) file to a .ecw file on a State Plane coordinate system.  This is an easy process using Global Mapper, which we are an Authorized Reseller of now.

Anyway, the area that I’m working with is Bastrop, Texas.  I brought the .jp2 file in and was looking at my screen, and I noticed what looked like a word.  See image below:

4-5-2011 2-59-51 PM

This is real, not fake!!  According to the NASA journal the landowner, last name Luecke, created a “target” that is useful for evaluating spatial resolution of astronaut photographs.  The forest was actually cleared in order to spell his name with the remaining trees.

If you look closely, you can see the precision of the land clearing.

If you would like to check this out in Google Earth, the coordinates are as follows:

Lat: 30d 3’41.40”N

Long: 97d 8’26.97”W

Happy Luecke-ing!!!

One Response to “Luecke At This!!!”

  1. Karen Says:

    I live near Austin, Texas, and I can tell you that it’s real. I see it every time I fly anywhere that routes through Houston. :-)

Leave a Reply

